SIG-wide Awards

SIGCOMM Award for Lifetime Contribution
The annual SIGCOMM Award, presented at the SIGCOMM Technical Conference, recognizes lifetime contribution to the field of communication networks.
  • Deadline: March 31st
SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award
This annual award was created by SIGCOMM in 2011, and recognizes excellent thesis research by doctoral candidates in the field of computer networking and data communication.
SIGCOMM Rising Star Award
Each year, ACM SIGCOMM presents a "Rising Star" Award, recognizing a young researcher - an individual within 10 years from receiving their Ph.D. or equivalent degree - who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of communication networks during this early part of his or her career. Depth, impact, and novelty of the researcher's contributions will be key criteria upon which the Rising Star award committee evaluate the nominees. Also of particular interest are strong research contributions made independently from the nominee's PhD advisor.
Test of Time Paper Award
The ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Award recognizes a paper published 10 to 12 years in the past in Computer Communication Review or any SIGCOMM sponsored or co-sponsored conference that is deemed to be an outstanding paper whose contents are still a vibrant and useful contribution today.
  • Deadline: March 31st (optional)
IMC Test of Time Award
The IMC Test Time of Award is given to papers that have had a significant impact on the field of network measurement since their publication. 
SIGCOMM Networking Systems Award
The SIGCOMM Networking Systems Award is awarded to an institution or individual(s) to recognize the development of a networking system that has had a significant impact on the world of computer networking.

SIGCOMM conference-specific awards

Best Paper Award winners
Student Paper Award winners
Nominations and guidelines: SIG Best Paper Award guidelines

ACM Recognition of SIGCOMM Members

ACM Fellows
ACM Fellows who are SIGCOMM members
ACM Distinguished Members
ACM's distinguished scientists and educators who are members of SIGCOMM. The Distinguished Member Grade recognizes those ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and 5 years of continuous Professional Membership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field.

Nominations and guidelines

All nominations should be sent to the current SIGCOMM awards chair: Renata Cruz Teixeira (Netflix)

SIGCOMM Award Nominations