• September 10, 2014

    Dear SIGCOMM Community Members,

    Welcome to the September newsletter! For those who attended the SIGCOMM conference in Chicago, I hope you have recovered from early
    mornings, long days, and eventful evenings! SIGCOMM 2014 conference had a great turnout, with a total of 733 attendees, out of which there
    were 39% students and 23% industry participants. We also saw a number of changes, including more papers being accepted, increased diversity
    of the topics covered, introduction of industrial demos, on-site childcare facilities, and the N2Women workshop and mentoring program.
    You can access the program and papers at:

    Here is the news for this month:

    1. Soliciting site proposals for SIGCOMM 2016
    2. SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award nominations
    3. Call for Nominations: 2015 Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP)
    4. CoNext 2014 Travel Grants
    5. SIGCOMM summer schools funding

    1. The SIGCOMM Executive Committee invites potential hosts of the
    SIGCOMM 2016 conference to submit proposals. Details of the proposal process are posted at:

    Proposals should be submitted by email to Yashar Ganjali, the Conference Coordinator at no later than
    September 15, 2014. Based on the three-year rotation schedule, the conference will be held at a 'wildcard' location, so that proposals
    from all location will be viewed equally.

    2. Nominations are open for SIGCOMM doctoral dissertation awards. For eligibility, the final dissertation defense should take place at the
    nominee’s host institution during the 12 months before the submission deadline. Submissions must be received by the current SIGCOMM Awards
    Chair, (Bruce Maggs) by November 30. Please see the nominations page for more information:

    3. The Applied Networking Research Prize (ANRP) is supported by the Internet Society (ISOC), as part of its Internet Research Award
    Programme, in coordination with the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF). This year’s applications deadline is on October 31, 2014. See
    the flyer for the details:

    4. Fancy going to Australia? With support from the U.S. National Science Foundation and SIGCOMM, CoNEXT 2014 will provide a limited
    number of grants to students to attend the main conference as well as to participate in the ACM CoNEXT 2014 Student Workshop.

    October 17, 2014, 4:59 PM EST, is the HARD deadline. Decision notification will be sent out by October 20, 2014.

    5. In order to build up the next generation of networking researchers and to contribute to the dissemination of scientific results to the
    community, SIGCOMM has decided to provide funding for summer schools. In 2014, we supported the 4th PhD School on Traffic Monitoring and
    Analysis (TMA) organised in April 2014 in London, UK.

    We are soliciting new proposals for summer schools that are planned in the next twelve months, see this page for details and consider
    organising one :

    That’s all for now!

  • August 4, 2014

    Dear SIGCOMM Community Members,

    We are less than two weeks away from SIGCOMM 2014 conference in Chicago. Details of the conference and 6 workshops are available on

    Here is the news for this month:
    1. IMC Student Travel Grant
    2. SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award
    3. Test of time award
    4. SIGCOMM 2015 workshops
    5. SIGCOMM 2014 Best Paper awards

    1. Are you a student? Want to attend IMC? Advisor won't fund the trip? Apply for a travel grant!
    August 25, 2014, 11:59 PM PDT (Aug 26, 2014, 6:59 AM GMT), is the HARD deadline. Late applications will not be considered. Decision notification will be sent out by September 1, 2014.

    2. The SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award 2014 recipient is Aaron Schulman who did his doctoral work at Maryland. Congratulations, Aaron!

    3. The SIGCOMM Test of time award winner papers this year are:

    “Congestion Control for High Bandwidth-Delay Product Networks” by Dina Katabi, Mark Handley, and Charlie Rohrs


    “Measuring ISP Topologies with Rocketfuel” by Neil Spring, Ratul Mahajan, and David Wetherall

    Congratulations to the authors of these landmarks papers!

    4. The call for workshops for SIGCOMM 2015 is now available. Please contact the SiGCOMM 2015 workshop chairs (Nick Feamster and Renata
    Teixeira) if you have ideas for workshops you would like to see or if you want to organize a workshop next year.

    5. SIGCOMM 2014 best paper awards go to:
    “Balancing Accountability and Privacy in the Network”, David Naylor (Carnegie Mellon University); Matthew K. Mukerjee (Carnegie Mellon University); Peter Steenkiste (Carnegie Mellon University)


    “CONGA: Distributed Congestion-Aware Load Balancing for Datacenters”, Mohammad Alizadeh (Cisco); Tom Edsall (Cisco); Sarang Dharmapurikar
    (Cisco); Ramanan Vaidyanathan (Cisco); Kevin Chu (Cisco); Andy Fingerhut (Google); Terry Lam (Cisco); Francis Matus (Cisco); Rong Pan (Cisco); Navindra Yadav (Cisco); George Varghese (Microsoft)

    That’s all for now!

    CFPs for Upcoming SIGCOMM-sponsored conferences:

    CFPs for Upcoming in-cooperation-with SIGCOMM conferences:

  • July 2, 2014

    The 2014 SIGCOMM Award goes to George Varghese for sustained and diverse contributions to network
    algorithmics, with far reaching impact in both research and industry.

  • June 9, 2014

    After a consultation process with the steering committees of all SIGCOMM-sponsored conferences, the selection process for the best paper award has been finalised and is available at:

  • June 9, 2014

    For the first time this year, SIGCOMM will host an industrial demo session. The Sigcomm industrial advisory board is seeking demos from industry in the area of networking, networked systems, and networked applications. The objective is to have demos of new or upcoming products instead of research projects and to bring together industry and academia. If you would like to present a demo or have ideas of interesting industrial demos, please contact Renata Teixeira or any member of the Sigcomm Industrial Advisory Board.

  • June 9, 2014

    ACM has been offering free webinars for the last couple of years ( ).Each webinar has an audience of around 700 attendees. SIGCOMM has the chance to offer a webinar through ACM in the coming year. If you would like to present such as webinar, please send a one-page proposal to S. Keshav at by June 30, 2014.

  • April 16, 2014

    Brad Karp (UCL) and Jitu Padhye (Microsoft Research) have been selected by the SIGCOMM TSC to be the TPC co-chairs for SIGCOMM 2015.

  • March 6, 2014

    Aaron Schulman is the winner of the the 2013 ACM SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award, for his thesis Observing and Improving the Reliability of Internet Last-Mile Links, completed at the University of Maryland, with Neil Spring serving as thesis advisor.

  • January 9, 2014

    In order to build up the next generation of networking researchers and to contribute to the dissemination of scientific results to the community, SIGCOMM has decided to provide funding for summer schools. We are soliciting proposals for these now, see this page for details and consider organising one:

  • December 4, 2013

    The application deadline for SIGCOMM Doctoral Dissertation Award has been extended to 15th December 2013.


    See for details on how to apply.

Syndicate content