HotNets Workshop

Hot Topics in Networks (HotNets) workshops.


The Workshop on Hot Topics in Networks (HotNets) was created in 2002 to discuss early-stage, creative networking research and to debate positions that reflect on the research direction and needs of the broad networking community. Architecture, high-level design work, and positions that may shape long-term research direction are especially welcome. HotNets is structured to work in synergy with conferences such as SIGCOMM by providing a venue in which innovative work may receive feedback to help it mature into conference papers or otherwise have a long-term impact on the community. To fulfill these goals HotNets calls for short position papers that argue a thoughtful point-of-view rather than full-length conference papers, and maintains a broad and diverse scope.

Scope and Summary

Submission to the workshop is open and encouraged across a wide-ranging set of topics, including at least security, distributed systems, sensor networks, middleware, economics, and management, as well as more traditional core networking topics. Attendance is limited to around 60 participants, drawn mainly from the author pool, to help promote a welcoming atmosphere for discussions. In previous years, HotNets has received over 100 submissions and selected one in four of these for presentation at the workshop.

Steering Committee

  • Katerina Argyraki, EPFL (chair, 2020 - )
  • Ben Zhao, University of Chicago (2020 - )
  • Keith Winstein (Stanford, 2022 - )
  • Ellen Zegura, Georgia Tech (SIGCOMM liaison, 2022 - )

Upcoming Workshop

Previous HotNets Workshops

The proceedings of the following past HotNets workshops are available online:

Former Steering Committee Members

  • Sujata Banerjee, VMware (2018 - 2021)
  • Aditya Akella, University of Wisconsin-Madison, (2018 - )
  • Dina Papagiannaki, Google (2018 - 2020)
  • Ramesh Govindan, USC (2015 - 2019)
  • Bruce Davie, VMware (2014-2017)
  • Jeff Mogul, Google (2013-2015)
  • S. Keshav, University of Waterloo (2013-2014)
  • Nina Taft, Google (2010-2014)
  • Brad Karp, University College London (2009-)
  • Bruce Maggs, Duke (2008-2013)
  • Craig Partridge, BBN (2008-2010)
  • Alex Snoeren, UC San Diego (2004-2009)
  • Greg Minshall (2008-2009)
  • Scott Shenker, UC Berkeley/ICIR (2006-2007)
  • John Wroclawski, ISI/MIT, (2002-2007)
  • David Wetherall, University of Washington (2002-2004)
  • Larry Peterson, Princeton University (2002-2006)