• December 7, 2010

    The SIGCOMM Executive Committee has selected Helsinki as the host city for the 2012 ACM SIGCOMM Conference. The general chairs will be Lars Eggert and Joerg Ott. More details and precise dates will be available in the near future.

  • December 1, 2010


    Nick Feamster has been awarded the Rising Star Award by ACM SIGCOMM, ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communications, for his pioneering contributions to network operations and security.  Feamster, an assistant professor at Georgia Tech, was cited for outstanding research contributions early in his career in network operations and security.  His ongoing work with network operators has resulted in innovative and practical systems for making networks more secure, more available, and easier to manage.   He will receive the award and deliver the keynote address at the ACM International Conference on emerging Networking EXperiments and Technologies (CoNEXT) December 1, in Philadelphia, PA, USA

    Feamster’s research in network security and operations has influenced research and industry on a national level.  Aspects of his work have also been incorporated into commercial spam filtering products and Web mail clients at Yahoo, Cisco/Ironport, and McAfee as well as a U.S. Department of Defense high-speed network monitoring project. His work on the routing configuration checker has been used by hundreds of Internet Service Providers (ISPs) around the world to check their network configurations for errors. Feamster has also been involved in setting the nation’s cyber-security agenda by developing a “wish-list” for the security community’s needs for data access, and he co-led a multi-agency workshop on “Security-Driven Architectures.”

    A recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) and a Sloan fellowship in 2008, Feamster won the Best Student Paper Award at ACM SIGCOMM 2006, and the Best Paper at ACM/Usenix Networked Systems Design and Implementation Symposium (NSDI) in 2005.  A graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, he holds S.B., M.Eng, and Ph.D. degrees from that institution.

    The SIGCOMM Rising Star Award, presented annually, recognizes a young researcher who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of communication networks during the early part of his or her career.

  • September 7, 2010

    The slides from the presentation at the Community Feedback Session at SIGCOMM 2010 are available at:

    Notes from the discussion are also online:

    Other information for those interested in the SIGCOMM organization is in the 2010 annual report:

  • September 2, 2010

    The Best Poster winner at SIGCOMM 2010 is:

    • Accelerating SSL with GPUs, Keon Jang (KAIST), Sangjin Han (KAIST), Seungyeop Han (NHN Corporation), Sue Moon (KAIST), KyoungSoo Park (KAIST) 

    The Best Demo winner is: 

    • MPAP: Virtualization Architecture for Heterogenous Wireless APs, Yong He (Microsoft Research Asia), Ji Fang (Microsoft Research Asia), Jiansong Zhang (Microsoft Research Asia), Haichen Shen (Microsoft Research Asia), Kun Tan (Microsoft Research Asia), Yongguang Zhang (Microsoft Research Asia)

    The Student Research Competition Winners are: (see )

    • Graduate 1st Place: SoftCast: One-Size-Fits-All Wireless Video, Szymon Jakubczak (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate 2nd Place: PixNet: LCD-Camera pairs as communication links, Samuel David Perli (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate 3rd Place: SecureAngle: Improving Wireless Security Using Angle-of-Arrival Information,  Jie Xiong (University College London)
    • Undergraduate 1st Place:  Unbiased Sampling in Directed Social Graph, Tianyi Wang (Tsinghua University)
    • Graduate Finalist: Autonomous Traffic Engineering With Self-Configuring Topologies, Srikanth Sundaresan (Georgia Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate Finalist: VMTorrent: Virtual Appliances on Demand, Joshua Reich (Columbia University)
    • Graduate Finalist: Ripcord: A Modular Platform for Data Center Networking, Brandon Heller (Stanford University)
  • August 17, 2010

    SIGCOMM is actively soliciting site proposals for the 2012 conference. In keeping with past practice, the 2012 conference will be held at a site in Europe. Site proposals are short (one page); requirements are described here. Site proposals should be sent by email to the SIGCOMM Conference Coordinator, Jaudelice de Oliveira ( Proposals are due by October 31, 2010.

  • June 30, 2010

    Dr. Radia Perlman of Intel Corporation has been awarded the 2010 SIGCOMM Award for her fundamental contributions to the Internet routing and bridging protocols that we all use and take for granted every day. Dr. Perlman will deliver the keynote address at the 2010 ACM SIGCOMM Conference to be held in New Delhi, August 30-September 3, 2010.

  • June 30, 2010

    Two papers have been awarded the SIGCOMM 2010 Test-of-Time Award. They are:

    1. Griffin, T. G. and Wilfong, G. 1999. An analysis of BGP convergence properties. SIGCOMM 1999.
    2. Faloutsos, M., Faloutsos, P., and Faloutsos, C. 1999. On power-law relationships of the Internet topology. SIGCOMM 1999.
  • June 4, 2010

    Application deadline for travel grants to Sigcomm 2010 has been extended to 11:59pm PDT, June 12 2010.

    There are a number of travel grants available for travel to Sigcomm 2010, including student travel and geodiversity grants. See the Travel Grant page for details.

  • March 18, 2010

    The Sigcomm Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the host city for the Sigcomm 2011 Conference

    After review of the submitted proposals, the Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the venue for the annual Sigcomm conference in 2011. Jorg Liebeherr (University of Toronto) will be General Chair. Exact dates and other details will be announced shortly.

  • March 16, 2010

    Olivier Bonaventure is the new SIGCOMM Education Director

    The SIGCOMM EC is pleased to announce that we have appointed Olivier Bonaventure to the position of SIGCOMM Education Director.
    This position had been vacant since Jim Kurose stepped down some time ago. In Olivier, we are fortunate to have a person who brings a passion for
    education and a wealth of relevant experience to the role. Olivier has many years of teaching experience and has mentored several well-known names in the field. We welcome him to the SIGCOMM board and look forward to his leadership in this area. Olivier's contact details can be found here.

Syndicate content