• September 7, 2010

    The slides from the presentation at the Community Feedback Session at SIGCOMM 2010 are available at:

    Notes from the discussion are also online:

    Other information for those interested in the SIGCOMM organization is in the 2010 annual report:

  • September 2, 2010

    The Best Poster winner at SIGCOMM 2010 is:

    • Accelerating SSL with GPUs, Keon Jang (KAIST), Sangjin Han (KAIST), Seungyeop Han (NHN Corporation), Sue Moon (KAIST), KyoungSoo Park (KAIST) 

    The Best Demo winner is: 

    • MPAP: Virtualization Architecture for Heterogenous Wireless APs, Yong He (Microsoft Research Asia), Ji Fang (Microsoft Research Asia), Jiansong Zhang (Microsoft Research Asia), Haichen Shen (Microsoft Research Asia), Kun Tan (Microsoft Research Asia), Yongguang Zhang (Microsoft Research Asia)

    The Student Research Competition Winners are: (see )

    • Graduate 1st Place: SoftCast: One-Size-Fits-All Wireless Video, Szymon Jakubczak (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate 2nd Place: PixNet: LCD-Camera pairs as communication links, Samuel David Perli (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate 3rd Place: SecureAngle: Improving Wireless Security Using Angle-of-Arrival Information,  Jie Xiong (University College London)
    • Undergraduate 1st Place:  Unbiased Sampling in Directed Social Graph, Tianyi Wang (Tsinghua University)
    • Graduate Finalist: Autonomous Traffic Engineering With Self-Configuring Topologies, Srikanth Sundaresan (Georgia Institute of Technology)
    • Graduate Finalist: VMTorrent: Virtual Appliances on Demand, Joshua Reich (Columbia University)
    • Graduate Finalist: Ripcord: A Modular Platform for Data Center Networking, Brandon Heller (Stanford University)
  • August 17, 2010

    SIGCOMM is actively soliciting site proposals for the 2012 conference. In keeping with past practice, the 2012 conference will be held at a site in Europe. Site proposals are short (one page); requirements are described here. Site proposals should be sent by email to the SIGCOMM Conference Coordinator, Jaudelice de Oliveira ( Proposals are due by October 31, 2010.

  • June 30, 2010

    Two papers have been awarded the SIGCOMM 2010 Test-of-Time Award. They are:

    1. Griffin, T. G. and Wilfong, G. 1999. An analysis of BGP convergence properties. SIGCOMM 1999.
    2. Faloutsos, M., Faloutsos, P., and Faloutsos, C. 1999. On power-law relationships of the Internet topology. SIGCOMM 1999.
  • June 30, 2010

    Dr. Radia Perlman of Intel Corporation has been awarded the 2010 SIGCOMM Award for her fundamental contributions to the Internet routing and bridging protocols that we all use and take for granted every day. Dr. Perlman will deliver the keynote address at the 2010 ACM SIGCOMM Conference to be held in New Delhi, August 30-September 3, 2010.

  • June 4, 2010

    Application deadline for travel grants to Sigcomm 2010 has been extended to 11:59pm PDT, June 12 2010.

    There are a number of travel grants available for travel to Sigcomm 2010, including student travel and geodiversity grants. See the Travel Grant page for details.

  • March 18, 2010

    The Sigcomm Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the host city for the Sigcomm 2011 Conference

    After review of the submitted proposals, the Executive Committee has selected Toronto as the venue for the annual Sigcomm conference in 2011. Jorg Liebeherr (University of Toronto) will be General Chair. Exact dates and other details will be announced shortly.

  • March 16, 2010

    Olivier Bonaventure is the new SIGCOMM Education Director

    The SIGCOMM EC is pleased to announce that we have appointed Olivier Bonaventure to the position of SIGCOMM Education Director.
    This position had been vacant since Jim Kurose stepped down some time ago. In Olivier, we are fortunate to have a person who brings a passion for
    education and a wealth of relevant experience to the role. Olivier has many years of teaching experience and has mentored several well-known names in the field. We welcome him to the SIGCOMM board and look forward to his leadership in this area. Olivier's contact details can be found here.

  • February 19, 2010

    The SIGCOMM award is bestowed annually for outstanding lifetime technical achievement in the fields of data and computer communications. Nominations for this year's award are due on or before March 31st, 2010. The nomination procedure is discussed in detail here:

    If you have any questions about the nominations process, please contact the Awards Chair, Ramesh Govindan (

  • December 5, 2009

    New ACM fellows include four SIGCOMM members: current SIGCOMM chair Bruce Davie, Jeffrey Dean, Farnam Jahanian, and John Chi-Shing Lui.

    The ACM Fellows Program was established by Council in 1993 to recognize and honor outstanding ACM members for their achievements in computer science and information technology and for their significant contributions to the mission of the ACM. The ACM Fellows serve as distinguished colleagues to whom the ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership as the world of information technology evolves.

    New ACM fellows include four SIGCOMM members:

    • Bruce Davie (Cisco) "For contributions to computer networking",
    • Jeffrey A. Dean (Google) "For contributions to the science and engineering of large-scale distributed computer systems",
    • Farnam Jahanian (Univ. Michigan) "For contributions to the dependability and security of networks and systems.", and
    • John Chi-Shing Lui (CUHK) "For contributions to stochastic analysis of parallel storage and communication systems."
Syndicate content