The following are minutes of the monthly SIGCOMM executive committee meeting.

A brief index lists the minutes in a more compact format without overview.

  • 6 December 2010

    1. SIGCOMM 2012 proposals

    The EC members on the call voted in favor of the Helsinki proposal;
    votes were to be collected from people who weren't on the
    call. (Note: Helsinki proposal was subsequently agreed to by the whole EC)

    2. Technical Steering Committee

    With the TSC still being in its startup phase, we realized a need to
    decide when new members would be added and old members rotated
    off. We decided on this process:

  • 1 November 2010

    1. SIGCOMM 2012 proposals

    Two proposals were received by the October 31 deadline and will be
    evaluated in the coming weeks.

  • 4 October 2010

    1. SIGCOMM 2012

    Deadline for site proposals is 10/31, we have heard that at least 2
    potential proposals are in the works.

  • 2 August 2010

    1. SIGCOMM 2010

    Planning for the upcoming conference is proceeding smoothly. Bruce
    reported that his visa had finally been issued, enabling him to do the
    announcement of awards and introduce the keynote speaker.

    We agreed that the Sigcomm EC meeting should be held at
    lunchtime. Bruce will set up dial in for those who want to join

  • 12 July 2010

    SIGCOMM EC Conference Call 7/12/10

    1. SIGCOMM 2010

    The upcoming conference was discussed. $150,000 is being allocaed for
    180 travel grants. Registrations are currently low, but early
    registration deadline is coming up.

    Extra meetings are being scheduled. CCR, Sigcomm EC, Sigcomm 2011 organizing
    committe meetings will be held. No SIGCOMM 2011 TPC due to absence of
    PC chairs.

  • 6 June 2010

    SIGCOMM EC Conference Call 6/10/10

    1. SIGCOMM 2010

    Bruce discussed the Best Paper award process. PC chairs asked Bruce to run process due to conflicts. The six highest-ranked papers have been selected for consideration, and non-conflicted PC members will vote for their favorites, with Bruce tallying the votes. EC agreed this was a fair process.

    Travel grants were discussed. There is a relatively large pool of grant money available and relatively few applications; deadline has been extended to try to attract more applications.

  • 10 May 2010

    SIGCOMM EC Conference Call 5/10/10

    1. SIGCOMM 2010

    Bruce and Jau joined a recent conference call with organizing committee for this year's conference. At this point everything seems to be on track. Visa processing has been reported to be time-consuming, so early applications are encouraged. Information on visas is on the conference web site.

    2. SIGCOMM 2011

    A hotel contract in now place for the Westin in Toronto. The TSC is making progress on recruiting PC chairs.

  • 5 April 2010

    1. Update from the Technical Steering Committee (chair: Dina)

    We invited the TSC chair (Dina) and Jen Rexford (who has been interim chair) to join, so we could get a report of the TSC's progress and provide guidance as needed. The first TSC Conference call was scheduled for a week hence. First task for the TSC is to select PC chairs for SIGCOMM 2011, and the TSC asked for clarification that no commitments had been made previously to potential chairs. Bruce confirmed that SIGCOMM EC did not make any commitments for 2011.

  • 1 March 2010

    1. SIGCOMM-EC mailing list

    The list has been updated to reflect the current EC (elected officers plus CCR editor) and SIGCOMM Board members (appointed positions).

    2. Education chair

    We received a number of applications. Selection of the candidate was discussed, to be confirmed by email.

    3. Technical Steering Committee

  • 1 February 2010

    1. Technical Steering Committee membership

    The EC discussed the compostion of the newly formed TSC, which will be
    responsible for selecting PC chairs for the 2011 conference. Jau as
    conference coordinator will be an ex-officio member, with one of each
    of the SIGCOMM TPC chairs from the previous three years and three
    other members. The EC settled on KK Ramakrishnan, Dina Papagiannaki,
    and Stefan Savage as the former PC chairs, plus Ernst Biersack, Jen
    Rexford, and Peter Druschel as the other members. Bruce agreed to