ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Paper Award

The ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Award recognizes papers published 10 to 12 years in the past in Computer Communication Review or any SIGCOMM sponsored or co-sponsored conference that is deemed to be an outstanding paper whose contents are still a vibrant and useful contribution today.

The past recipients of the ACM SIGCOMM Test of Time Paper Award are:

  • 2015:
  • "A clean slate 4D approach to network control and management." by Albert Greenberg, Gisli Hjalmtysson, David A. Maltz, Andy Myers, Jennifer Rexford, Geoffrey Xie, Hong Yan, Jibin Zhan, and Hui Zhang. CCR October 2005.

    This paper led to a resurgence of interest in the topic of separated data and control planes to better manage networks that developed into Software Defined Networking (SDN).

  • "Sizing router buffers", by Guido Appenzeller, Isaac Keslassy, and Nick McKeown. SIGCOMM 2004.

    This paper questioned the old rule-of-thumb for buffering at routers and contributed theory and experiments to show much less buffering is needed.  It has ongoing relevance to issues such as bufferbloat and small buffers in commodity switching chips.

This year's Test of Time Award Committee was David Wetherall (Google, chair), Jon Crowcroft (U.Cambridge), Srinivasan Seshan (CMU), and Ellen Zegura (Georgia Tech).